It all started with this note: “Change your FB profile picture to a cartoon from your childhood. The goal? To not see a human face on FB till Monday, December 6th. Join the fight against child abuse & copy & paste to your status to invite your friends to do the same.”

And it caught on like wildfire!  Now, almost everyone of my friends in facebook has their favorite cartoon character as their profile picture.  I think this is one of the sweetest fads that hit facebook.  I’m sure that not everyone thought about campaigning against child abuse when they put up their favorite cartoon character but it has surely brought a lot of good childhood memories.  I could say that cartoons have somehow defined our childhood. 

Since I saw the note, I have gone from being Dee Dee, the ditzy, simple-minded older sister of Dexter in Dexter’s Laboratory

to Cinderella, the Disney movie that I have seen probably hundred times already.  It was my favorite Disney character when I was 9 and  still enjoy watching it at 29.  😉

After 6 hours of being Cinderella, I changed my profile to picture of Petrie and Ducky from another favorite movie, the Land Before Time. This film never cease to move me to tears.  My boyfriend is Ducky so it figures that I’m Petrie.  🙂

When I changed my profile picture to Peter Pan and Wendy, my student posted a comment on my wall saying that I am more like Tinkerbell because I light up the path of “lost boys.”  As a counselor, I am flattered  with that comment.

For now, I am Road runner.  I remeber laughing my heart out watching the “super genius”  Wile E.  Coyote and his absurd contraptions but my childhood hero would always outwit him.  Now, Road runner’s signature sound “Beep beep”  is ringing in my head.

This cartoon character fad in facebook is supposed to end on Monday so I still have time to honor those who have made my childhood happy – Denver, the Last Dinosaur, the Flintstones, the Jetsons, the Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles, Care bears, Thundercats, GI Joe, X-men, Rainbow Brite, Tom and Jerry …and the list goes on.

